EDITOR’S INSIGHT| Hair Care Regimen

Hair Regimen

Tyke Photography 

Daily hair care is not always an easy task. But creating a regimen can help encourage hair growth and maintain healthy hair. This month I’m sharing my hair care regimen that helped restore my hair. Keep in mind that everyone has different textures, so you may have to modify your routine.

SHAMPOO: Although there are recommendations to wash your hair every three days, I opt for a more feasible routine- once a week. I stay away from products that contain sulfate, polyethelyne glycol, alcohol, propylene glycol, and petroleum/mineral oil. I search for hydrating shampoos, which leave my hair and scalp moisturized. Tip: Give your head a massage (with your fingertips- not your nails) while washing your hair. Massaging your head in circular motions can help detoxify the scalp and boost blood circulation.

CONDITION: I use a conditioner (weekly) that stimulates the scalp to help my hair grow. I look for conditioners that include ingredients such as coconut oil, avocado oil, jojoba oil, olive oil, and menthol. The conditioner is applied from my roots to the tip of my hair. Depending on the amount of time I have, I’ll leave the conditioner in for 10 to 25 minutes, covered with a plastic cap. However, if you own a hooded dryer, that works as well. Tip: I rinse out the conditioner with cool water to close my pores, and lock in condition agents.

MOISTURIZE:  I apply hair lotion to the ends of my hair daily. I’ve abstained from greasing my scalp (usually related to ethnic hair) because it can clog your hair follicles. As a result, existing scalp conditions can worsen. By using the hydrating shampoo and conditioner, my scalp can absorb moisture.

STYLING: I use a flat iron two to three times a week (not consecutive days), depending on the cooperation of my hair. However, it is recommended to use a flat/curling iron once/twice a week.

DIET: How we treat our bodies from the inside effects the health of our hair. Our eating habits are just as important (if not more) as the products we put on our hair. Eating healthy food can help hair follicles grow, and maintain healthy hair. In addition to juicing (see article here), my weekly diet includes foods with biotin, iron, protein, and omega-3 fatty acids (ex: salmon).

I want to thank you for stopping by NRJS, and I’ll see you next time!

Xx,

Abrielle No Rule Just Style.jpg

22 thoughts on “EDITOR’S INSIGHT| Hair Care Regimen

  1. Great tips! I was going to ask you which moisturizer you use but Dana beat me to it. I’ve been looking for a better moisturizer and the products available out here are pretty much non-existent. Frustrating! But that’s the Canadian prairies for you. Lol

    xo, Jackie
    stylemydreams.com

    • @Jackie,
      Thank you! Aww, that’s a shame (lack of products). I’m not sure how you feel about online shopping, but I would give this website –> http://rapunzelthefutureofhair.com/ a try. My friends have been using these products for a while now, and I must say, I’m impressed with their results. The key is to really stick to the regimen that is suggested. Have a great one love! Xx

  2. Fabulous tips! My natural hair seems to have stopped growing because I don’t not eat well nor interested in taking care of it because it takes too much of my time. I just thought about getting back on track to growing healthy hair yesterday. For me, this article came at the right time. Thanks!

    • @Sade,
      Thank you! I know it may be time consuming (trust me I know), but taking care of your hair now can prevent issues from occurring later on. I hope you find a regimen that isn’t too tedious, but is also effective. As for eating well, that is a major key to maintaining healthy hair. I’m so glad you stopped by, and I wish you well on your journey! Have a great week! (-:

  3. I agree with your post as I’ve been on the natural hair journey for about 6months now. I just shampoo, condition, moisturize, and braid my hair, and wear a wig for 2weeks, and repeat. My hair has grown, and it’s healthier than its ever been. But I haven’t tried eating healthy yet. It’s so hard! I love greasy n salty food. lol.. Have a great week! xx

    • @Fran,
      Thank you sweetie! Glad to hear that you’re hair is in great condition. As far as eating healthy, you’ll get there. LOL. It’s a challenge, but once you start, it becomes second nature. You should still indulge here and there though (Ex: my IG account). Ha! Depriving yourself only makes the journey more complicated and frustrating.

      Happy Thursday love! Xx

  4. Your hair looks super healthy! Thanks for sharing! X
    tfmbe.blogspot.com

  5. Great tips my dear! I have to admit that I have been really lazy with hair care during the last months, now that I have my hair cut. After so many years working on it all day. Haha! You reminded me I have to start treating my hair well again. 🙂 Thanks for the tips my friend!
    xx, Stella

    http://www.stellaasteria.com

    • @Stella,
      Thank you love! I can see how shorter hair can sway you to “slack off” with a daily hair regimen. Haha! By the way, I love your haircut! It looks so sleek and modern. I’m sure you’ll get back on track! Have a great upcoming weekend my friend! ❤

Comments are closed.