EDITOR’S INSIGHT| The Truth About Juicing

Truth About Juicing

If you’ve read my last post (here), you know that I’ve been on the juicing bandwagon for a little while. Although juicing has many benefits, there are some cons. If you’re juicing, then this post is probably not news to you. However, if you’re thinking about juicing, here are some tidbits I’d like to share. Please note, I’m not a licensed physician or nutritionist. I’m just sharing my experience.

WHY AM I GAINING WEIGHT? Everyone has different reasons for juicing. It could be due to your health, to increase your vitamin intake, or to lose weight. If your goal is to lose weight, you may be surprised if you gain weight. It’s important to have a balance between fruits and vegetables when juicing. Keep in my mind that fruits contain sugar. So the more fruit you consume, the more sugar you’re adding to your diet. In no way am I deterring anyone from consuming fruit. Just be mindful of how much fruit you’re taking in. Don’t forget the vegetables!! 

WHAT ARE YOU DRINKING? Selecting fruits/vegetables can be tricky. Be sure of what you’re purchasing. If you have a garden or access to one, that’s even better. If not, be careful with store bought produce. Know how and where your fruit/vegetables are grown. Being unaware of what you’re putting into your body defeats the purpose of juicing for your health. If it looks like a cucumber and feels like a cucumber, it might not be an organic cucumber.

WHY AM I SO THIRSTY? “Drink plenty of water!” I’ve heard this many times before. But I didn’t know juicing can dehydrate your body.  Although juicing is part of the detoxification process, water is also needed to flush out toxins.

Since we’re all different (living environment, habits, weight), the recommended water consumption will also differ. Simply take your weight (in pounds) and divide the number in half to determine the amount of water (in ounces) you should consume daily. Those living in dryer/warmer areas may need to increase the water consumption.

WHY AM I SO TIRED? When you first start juicing, you may experience some symptoms such as fatigue, dizziness. Your body may be trying to adjust to your new regimen. Think about everything you’ve put in your system up until you started juicing. At one point, it felt like I was on my death bed. Yep! That’s how I felt. My body was lacking hydration and going through sugar withdrawal and other substances (ex: caffeine, pastries). But after a few weeks of sticking with this process, my body started to adjust to the dietary changes.

If you experience similar symptoms, but you think there’s something more serious, do not hesitate to contact your physician.

WHY IS MY SKIN BREAKING OUT? Unless you’ve had issues with your skin before juicing (ex: eczema), don’t panic! Your breakout may just be a detox reaction. If you’ve used the Clarisonic brush (or similar product), you may have experienced the same outcome. Releasing toxins is a sign that your body is going through changes, which is normal. Just think of this as the purging stage; it will pass…eventually.

Everyone will have a different reaction. If your condition is severe, or your skin has not improved, do not hesitate to contact your dermatologist.

FINAL THOUGHTS: Juicing has changed my health immensely, but don’t be fooled. You have to put in some work and find the right balance that suits your needs. Think of juicing as exercising. It’s not one size fits all. What works for one, may not work for the other. So before you commit, rethink your purpose and strategy. What is your goal for juicing? Is this a lifestyle change or a quick fix? How much are you willing to invest (appliances)?

I want to thank you for stopping by NRJS, and hope this post has helped those who want to change their lifestyle…one day at a time. See you next post!

Source: Reboot With Joe

Xx,

Abrielle No Rule Just Style.jpg

25 thoughts on “EDITOR’S INSIGHT| The Truth About Juicing

  1. This is a great post! I do agree that sugar contains a lot of natural sugar(s) so one has to find a balance between fruits & Veg. I lean more on the veg. side. Also jumping on the juicing wagon to loose weight is a quick fix and may not be long lasting.

    Your disclaimer made me laugh by the way but then your experience counts as these are some of the things you have tried and tested it is even better than some of the things we read online 🙂
    Do have a great week.
    Mojisola
    http://www.mojintouch.com

  2. As a non-juicer, this was super informative for me, very interesting review!

    Are you still juicing? I remember when you started this. Is this a temporary thing or a full lifestyle change for you?

    • @Vivian,
      Hahaha. Juicing is probably not for everyone. For me, it’s a necessary step for my health. I did it because my body cannot handle dairy products or faux meat (Ha). You’d be surprised what we are REALLY putting into our bodies. If I had the means (and talent- LOL) to become a farmer, I would. At least I’d know exactly what I’m eating. It’s sad that we have to be careful with the farms today.

      Yes, I’m still juicing, and the plan is to continue on this path. Thank you so much hon! Have an awesome week! ❤

  3. Great post! I’ve never tried juicing before but this was very informative for me. I truly believe there is a connection between diet and health. As someone who has suffered from gastrointestinal issues, I’ve come to learn the benefits of controlling my diet by eating clean and avoid certain food groups. Good luck with the juicing! Hope all the hard work helps! 🙂

    xo, jackie
    stylemydreams.com

    • @Jackie,
      Thank you hon! I’m glad you enjoyed the post! Yes, it does make a huge difference when you eat clean. I guess the cliche remark is certainly right. “We are what we eat.” I’m also glad that your dietary changes has helped with your health. Have a great week!! Xx

  4. Really good post! I don’t think I could do a full juice diet…my daily fruit/veg smoothie is really as good as it gets! I’m intrigued to see how it works out for you in the longterm. Please let me know if its sustainable.

    x Diana

    • @Diana,
      Thank you! Glad you enjoyed the post!

      I think some people get the wrong impression about juicing. You can eat solid foods and juice at the same time. Some people do juice fasts, but others juice with regular meals (i.e. smoothie or green juice for breakfast, and a solid meal for lunch/dinner). You just gave me a great idea for a future post. Thank you hon! Hope you’re enjoying your week so far. Xx

  5. Thanks for sharing the “real deal” behind juicing. I definitely need to take your advice to drink more water and take it easy on my skin. I tried it with Peeled here in Chicago and though I lost 5 lbs, they were mostly water weight and I gained them back in the next week. Oh well, at least it helped flush out some toxins. I felt much cleaner afterwards. Anyhow, sorry I’ve been MIA lately, really missed catching up with you. I hope all is well! xo~ Lena

    http://www.felinecreatures.com

    • Hey Lena,
      You’ve been missed! Glad to see you back! Yes, it can be a bit tricky when sugar is involved. Water is definitely a key component to our health. No need for an apology. I know you’ve been busy (in a good way). Have a great weekend dear! ❤ ❤

  6. I’ve never juiced but one of my good friends have and she has told me all about the pros and the cons. You’re so right, you need plenty of water, and you’re also right in choosing the right fruits. She also told me she discovered you still need to have a balanced eating habit as well. She still needed protein and other ingredients so she incorporated them to fit her. I think with anything, you have to find the right balance for you and not someone else. This was a great read girl.

    Kia / KTS
    http://www.houseofkts.com

    • @Kia,
      Would you ever consider juicing? I’ve had people say they’d never try it and now it’s a part of their lives. Ha! Your friend is very insightful. It’s good to have friends like this. They can help you make an informed decision. I’m going to do another post about juicing and eating solid foods. I want people to really know the in’s/out’s before committing. It’s still the best decision I’ve ever made.

      Have a great weekend hon! Xx

  7. What a great post my dear! So informative! Who would’ve thought that juicing may cause symptoms like these? I have had skin breakout too after juicing and my dermatologist couldn’t figure out what it is as no medication was doing anything. I am going to tell her right away! I really believe it is this after reading your post. Thank you so much!
    Much Love,
    Stella
    http://www.stellaasteria.com

    • @Stella,
      Thank you sweetie! It could be the cause of your breakout. If so, it’s just temporary. I hope your dermatologist is able to pinpoint the problem. Let me know of this was the cause! Have a great week gorgeous! ❤ ❤

  8. That’s a great point about not adding too many fruits. I like to use parsnip if I want a sweeter juice without adding fruit! Or sometimes a bit of coconut water.

Thank you for leaving a comment! xx, NRJS

