EDITOR’S INSIGHT| Lip Care Regimen

Editors Insight Lips

Tyke Photography

Dry lips. I’m sure some of us (if not all) can relate to this. Much like a skin care regimen, our lips should be treated to a daily routine as well. Since the skin of our lips differs from the skin of our face (and other parts of the body), there are techniques to help maintain healthy lips. Below is my lip regimen that helps my lips remain moisturized through weather conditions, illnesses, and protection from environmental chaos.

Cleanse: The first thing I do before touching my lips is wash my hands. It’s no secret that we can transfer germs to our mouth by touching contaminated surfaces all day (ex: doorknobs).

Exfoliate: This step is controversial. Some medical professionals say this should be avoided, as it may scratch or tear your skin if the product is too abrasive. However, with exfoliates now being less harsh, other medical professionals recommend exfoliation. For me, I tend to use products that softly exfoliate my lips (and hydrate), such as Tarte’s Maracuja Lip Exfoliant (also sold here).

Moisturizing: I apply a lip balm (or lip gloss) to my lips before heading out to work, after meals, and before bed. It may seem a little obsessive to some, but this step has kept my lips moisturized for years. I typically look for lip balms that have vitamin E, castor seed oil, and/or shea butter. Oh, and don’t forget that SPF! Want to add a little color? Try this sugar lip treatment or other lip treatments that provide protection for your lips.

Hydration: Drinking water should be a given by now. Similar to maintaining moisturized skin, water can also help your lips stay healthy and hydrated. It’s recommended to drink 2 to 3 liters of water a day, but I say do the best you can. Just don’t go a day without water.

**Tips: Try not to lick your lips. Since our saliva is a source of moisture for our lips, we tend to lick them. But licking our lips contributes to dry and cracked skin.  Also, be sure the products you’re using aren’t the culprit to your lip woes (cracked lips, dry lips, etc.). Even lip balms (among other lip products) can irritate your skin.

I thank you for stopping by NRJS and look forward to seeing you next time. Until next post!

Xx,

Abrielle No Rule Just Style.jpg

10 thoughts on “EDITOR’S INSIGHT| Lip Care Regimen

Comments are closed.