CATCHING UP WITH LYDIE @ Art Becomes You

Art Becomes You 2

Images via Art Becomes You

You created Art Becomes You in 2011. Since then, you’ve managed to maintain quite a following. Where do you see your blog four years from now? Boy, I hope to be like RCFA or Fashion Bomb Daily one day. Those are blogs that inspire me. A mixture of personal style, street fashion, and high fashion. They’re highly respected and recognized fashion editors. That’s what I aim to be.

What’s the most important tip you would give a new style blogger? Trends will kill ya. I mean if you love a trend then by all means indulge, but always remember to do you. Put your spin on things.

What’s your favorite season in England? Spring. Because I was born in May. hahahaha. I love it when it’s warm enough to wear a duster but still flash a bit of shoulder, neck, or leg. (-:

What’s your favorite fashion era from the 20th century? I am tempted to say 80’s because I was born then, but 70’s definitely does it for me. Flamboyance was the order of the day. Bell bottoms, garish prints, and big sleeves – no era has looked cooler since.

One item every woman should have in her closet? A pair of knockout heels. I mean really that’s a start. Because every woman should really have like 35 pairs of killer shoes she can rely on. Hahaha. Don’t listen to me.

You mentioned your admiration for Naimoie Harris, Kerry Washington, Solange Knowles, Blake Lively, & Genevieve Nnaji’s style. Of the five, whose closet would you like to raid? Oh dear; this is real tough! It’d have to be between Solange Knowles and Blake Lively. I feel like they should both couple up and adopt me…If not in this life, in the next life. 

Vintage or New? Oooh, both! Brand new is exciting, and I love snatching tags. But I do find vintage shopping very thrilling. You never know what to expect, and sometimes you find real hidden gems. 

Art Becomes You 1

Diamonds or pearls? I love pearls, but I wouldn’t be able to pull them off daily. So diamonds it is!

What was the last book you read? The Woman Who Stole My Life – Marian Keyes.

You were recently featured in Afroelle Magazine (congrats to you!); what other magazine(s) could you see yourself being featured? Thanks Abrielle! I haven’t thought about this really. Getting featured is a bonus for me.  Maybe because I see myself as the interviewer and not the interviewee. I would want to be the magazine editor that would feature other cool people someday (-:

Which brand(s) would you like to collaborate with? I love Urban Outfitters & Mango. Asos too!

If you had the opportunity to be a stylist for one of your favorite television shows, which cast would you like to style? Gossip Girl would be so fun to style. I’d be crucified for saying this, but I feel like Scandal could do better sometimes. So I’d love to get involved!

What is one thing people would be surprised to hear about you? I secretly love grey foxes (Anderson Cooper, John Slaterry- well damn these silver foxes) and redheads. Yep, I got that ginger fever. My husband is lucky he’s a redhead. And in the years to come, he’ll be a silver fox. Two birds with one stone, eh!

How do you balance the time between blogging, work, and your family? The only way I can manage it is by sticking to a routine.  Even then I struggle!! I also prioritize which gives a natural order to things.

Knowing what you know now, what would you tell your younger self? I wish I’d let my hair down earlier. [I’ve] been myself and just not worried about what anyone thought about me or my choices. Self-confidence at an early age is EVERYTHING!

**Stay connected with Lydie on Instagram: @artbecomesyou

Lydie, I would like to thank you once again for taking the time to share your thoughts. I enjoyed reading your responses, and I love silver foxes well! Anderson Cooper is definitely easy on the eyes. Ha! I’ve been a fan of your blog for a short time, but I know I’ll be seeking inspiration for years to come. You’re one of a kind!

XOXO,

Abrielle No Rule Just Style.jpg

9 thoughts on “CATCHING UP WITH LYDIE @ Art Becomes You

Comments are closed.