BLOG SESSION: Choosing Titles For Blog Posts

blogclass-1

Image via Chapter Friday

Titles. Either you get them, or you don’t. If you’ve just started a blog, the title of a post could mean the difference between attracting readers and losing them. In this post, I’ll share what I’ve learned about titles thus far.

Keywords: If you’re not familiar with Wendy’s (of Wendy’s Lookbook) scarf post, you will be. With more than 35 million hits, this video became a global phenomenon. Who says there’s no power in titles? The keyword? Scarf! Now don’t get me wrong, Wendy already had a large following. But I didn’t know about her until I googled “ways to tie a scarf”. So try to use words that will attract readers, but also make sure the keywords are related to your post.

Keep It Simple: The point is to get the attention of readers, not scare them off. Keep the title simple. For instance, one of my most recent posts involved items I barely wore or did not use.  I simply titled the post, Hidden Closet Treasures. I could have named the post, Items in My Closet I Haven’t Worn In A While, but this is too long. Unless your blog is well established, simplicity may be the best option. Just remember to include the keyword(s).

Ask Your Audience: Using titles in the form of a question is another technique that can help keep the attention of your avid readers, and draw a bigger audience. When we see a question, we’re likely to respond. Readers may be apt to leave a comment, which can start a dialogue. In turn, others may want to participate whether they agree/disagree. To make the post more personal, use the words “you” and “your” (in the title) to engage with readers.

The Name Game: Before I posted my first entry (no longer available), I didn’t understand the importance of titles. I knew my content would be fashion-related, but didn’t capitalize on the topic. Bootie| Melody is probably not the most appealing title. Although “bootie” is not spelled like “booty”, a new reader who’s unfamiliar with fashion may get the wrong impression. Ha! So be careful when choosing a title.

Research: One thing I wish I did before posting “Pink With Envy” was search for similar titles. Technically, I could change the title, but the URL would be in its original format. If you want your title to be more unique, try researching the title first. I usually google my title to see whose thought process is similar to mine.

Finding techniques to come up with catchy titles is great. But it’s one thing to attract a reader, it’s another to keep them engaged. So have a good title, but also create great content.

I’m always grateful when you stop by NRJS. Thank you so much, and I’ll see you next post!

XOXO,

Abrielle No Rule Just Style.jpg

18 thoughts on “BLOG SESSION: Choosing Titles For Blog Posts

  1. Thank you for writing this post! This is a topic I haven’t read about before, so I found it super useful. I am definitely going to keep these tips in mind for the future. Thanks!

  2. I really enjoy your informative posts. Every time I learn something beneficial…thanks for taking the time to put this together! hun xx

Comments are closed.