CATCHING UP WITH LAIYIN @ Style of LYS

The Style Circus 2

Images via Style of LYS

Having started  The Style Circus (now Style of LYS) in 2011, Laiyin has attended several fashion shows, traveled to beautiful locations, and graced us with her undeniable style. Whether you refer to her as a fashion blogger or style maven, one thing’s for sure, this is Laiyin’s world, and we’re here to enjoy her circus. I had the chance to interview Laiyin earlier this summer, and here’s what she had to say about her inspirations, style, and plans for Style of LYS.

You’ve managed your blog successfully for several years. How has your style changed since you first started? First of all thank you very much for this opportunity and interview! Very happy about the fact that you chose me! Now back to the first question. Well, I still love to dress myself in an effortless way of chic. But I think I started to develop a more relaxed relationship to seasonal trends – I know what I like, what suits me and stopped to hop on every trend. That doesn’t mean I followed every trend back when I started blogging, but I choose more wisely nowadays. And I slowly started to build up a wardrobe with my all-time favourite clothing pieces, that always look great and for which I can grab for if I have no idea what to wear.

What does the future hold for Style of LYS? Oh, I’ve planned so many things! I started to develop and focus on my blog around a year ago – beforehand it was simply a hobby I loved besides studying. I am planning to expand [Style of LYS] concerning lifestyle and travel aspects. I want to add more value to it besides my daily looks.

Who or what inspires your posts? That’s hard to tell. The essence of [Style of LYS] is to show my readers what I really wear on a daily basis. I am not compiling looks only for some photos for the blog and change right afterwards in tee and jeans. That is what keeps me going – to inspire people with my daily real-life looks.

You’re quite an impressive traveler! What’s your favorite country to visit? Thank you so much! I’m telling you a little secret now: I’ve never been to the states! Yes, I know, how does it come that I haven’t been there yet? (-; Somehow there was no opportunity till know. But if I get the chance, I would love to do an east-to-west coast trip by car with some of my closest friends. And a country that I really loved was Thailand. It’s so beautiful there!

If you had a chance to collaborate with a brand, who would it be? Oh, that’s a tough decision. There are so many incredible brands out there who are doing amazing work. But if I really could choose freely, it would [Style of LYS] one of them: Chanel, Dior or Louis Vuitton.

 Whose closet would you like to raid (celebrity, stylist/designer, museum, etc.)? Hmm, to be honest, there’s no one! I would rather wish for a big chunk of money and build up my own dream wardrobe. (-; But I love the style of Diane Kruger, so it would be her closet probably.

What article of clothing could you wear every day? I never get tired of a crisp white blouse. If I had to choose, I would go for blouses.

I’ve stated that you are the queen of layering. What advice would you give to a newcomer (style blogger) about the art of layering clothing? Think outside the box! Try to experiment with different clothing pieces and especially different lengths. And another important thing, try to combine everything in similar colour families- nothing can beat a layered look in harmonizing colours!

TheStyleCircus_Culottes-5

Heels or flats? Both! I could neither live without one of them.

Canon or Nikon? Definitely Canon! I’m through and through a Canon girl! (-;

What’s the best advice you’ve ever received? Listen to yourself and don’t try to please everybody, as this will never work.

What’s your favorite trend from the 21st century? Oh, a tough question! But if I had to choose, I would definitely pick the Sports trend. I love how it makes everything more easy and effortless in the fashion world and the possibility to combine some chic white sneakers with elegant pieces as a skirt. And I’m a big fan of neoprene as a material!

Besides Berlin, what other locations would you like to experience during Fashion Week? Paris, Tokyo, New York? On top of my list is definitely Paris with all its grand maisons and labels; the epitome of fashion for me. But New York and Milan are right after Paris!

How do you decompress? Spending time with my little pug Cookie.

Knowing what you know now, what would you tell your younger self? Don’t wait; go out, be active and work for your dreams!

**Stay connected with Laiyin on Instagram: @styleoflys

Laiyin, I’d like to thank you for giving me the opportunity to share your thoughts on NRJS. You’re such an inspiration and a force to be reckoned with. It was a pleasure working with you, and I can’t wait to see what’s in store for Style of LYS in years to come.

XOXO,

Abrielle No Rule Just Style.jpg

5 thoughts on “CATCHING UP WITH LAIYIN @ Style of LYS

Comments are closed.