CATCHING UP WITH DIANA @ The Cole Collection

 

Cole Collection 2

Images via The Cole Collection

Be you, in all your glory. Let your personality shine and stay true to your style;” just one of the many inspiring words shared by Diana of The Cole Collection. Each time I conduct an interview (via email) with my fellow bloggers, I imagine where the interview would take place during a face-to-face discussion. Since the lovely Diana clearly appreciates home décor, I can see her and me talking over a cup of tea/coffee in an inviting setting.

Whether she’s clearing her mind, or traveling the world, she undoubtedly values her time with family, and she does so in style. I caught up with Diana a few months ago, and here’s what the brilliant powerhouse had to say.

You started your blog not too long ago; what does the future hold for The Cole Collection? I like to try and keep the flow of the blog organic and let my life dictate the future of the blog, instead of having a strategic plan. That said, there is some pretty life altering changes coming my way this year, which will provide my readers with a whole new perspective on my life and passions…stay tuned! Ultimately though, I will aim to stay true to the reasons I started blogging in the first place, which were to express myself creatively, inspire others through style, and lifestyle posts, and to share some fundamental life lessons along the way.

How do you balance the time between blogging, work, and your family? Well, some weeks I’m better at it than others. Mostly it’s down to being prepared and doing as much as possible in advance. I think it also helps that I can’t sit still. I don’t stress about it, sometimes life gets in the way, and that’s okay. As far as my kiddies are concerned, I’ve found pockets in our daily routine that allow me to spend quality time with each of them one on one, even if only for 10 minutes. Every evening meal is deemed family time; all technology is switched off, and we just talk, giggle, sometimes it ends in a crazy dance party, and that’s just the way we like it.

What’s the most important tip you would give a new style blogger? Be you, in all your glory. Let your personality shine and stay true to your style.

What’s your favorite trend (past or present)? I would normally say the trench, which surpassed trend status to wardrobe staple and continues just to come back in fresh new ways. But I also have to give a nod to the petite cross body bags that are trending at the moment. I love the Chloe take on this trend especially, as well as the offerings from Michael Kors and YSL.

How would you describe your style, then versus now? I didn’t really conform to one style back in the day. I used to experiment a lot and follow trends more. Mostly it worked for me but I do remember a couple of now cringe worthy outfit choices. Now I aim for chic with a little bit of an edge. My wardrobe is becoming more of a capsule of versatility, and I’ll look to add pieces [that] complement what I already have.

If you had a chance to work with a designer, who would it be? Oh, that’s easy! Ms. Carolina Herrera; her work is timeless and exudes elegance.

Cole Collection 1

Who or what inspires your posts? That’s quite difficult to pin down. So many different things inspire me; a memory, a moment, something my children say or do, life experiences, the seasons and my mood all have a part to play.

Vintage or New? New

What’s your favorite season in South Africa? Spring time is beautiful here in SA. Everything starts to become lush and green, and the Jacaranda trees blossom. If you look over Johannesburg from a place above the city, it will be dotted with pops of violet.

Three words to describe South Africa. Colorful, urban, edgy

Polka Dots or Stripes? Stripes

What is your dream job? Singer/Songwriter

What’s your favorite quote? That’s a tough one; there are so many that I love and remind myself of in different situations. Right now the one that resonates with me the most is, “hold the vision, trust the process” – Unknown

 What do you consider the most important facets of the fashion industry? First off, I don’t in any way consider myself a fashion guru. I do believe though that accessibility is really important and that everyone should have access to incorporating the latest runway trends into their personal style. Something that I would like to see more of are the high/low (think Alexander Wang for H&M) collaborations that allow aspiring fashionista’s out there the opportunity to purchase something from their favorite designer that also fits their budget.

 Knowing what you know now, what would you tell your younger self? Slow down baby…

**Stay connected with Diana on Instagram: @thecolecollection

Diana, it was such a pleasure working with you and thank you for sharing your journey with us on The Cole Collection. I wish you well with the new chapter in your life, and I’m looking forward to more inspiration via TCC.

XOXO,

Abrielle No Rule Just Style.jpg

 

6 thoughts on “CATCHING UP WITH DIANA @ The Cole Collection

    • @Vivian,
      Glad you enjoyed the interview! I have so much fun each time I get the opportunity to do an interview. I get to know my favorite bloggers a little better. Can’t wait to work with you! xx

Comments are closed.