CATCHING UP WITH DANA @ I’ve Got Cake

Dana I've Got Cake

Images via I’ve Got Cake

From heartfelt posts such as The Small Things to outrageously comical posts such as Lobster Chowder, Dana speaks her mind as if she was physically in the room with you. You can picture her laughing over cocktails, exchanging stories about life and the people in it. Dana lets you into her world, sharing stories about her equally entertaining mother and enticing us with recipes fit for a cookbook. What makes Dana unique in the competitive world of blogging? It’s her ability to make you laugh, inspire you, and have you wanting more. Without further ado, here’s a more intimate look at Dana of I’ve Got Cake.

You started I’ve Got Cake not too long ago; where do you see the blog two years from now? Yikes! Hopefully with a link to my recent cookbook– complete with foul language and dirty stories.

What’s the most important tip you would give a new style blogger? I know how hard it is getting someone to take pics of you so invest in a tripod. If you can’t front the cash to get a professional DLSR & tripod, at least invest in a tripod that can support your current device. If they have the Selfie Stick – there’s a tripod out there for you. Find it. Because not only is it a pain in the a** to try and see your full look through a mirror reflection, it also looks like you’re not taking the whole ‘style blogger’ thing seriously. [It] calls into question whether we (your audience) should take you seriously.” And don’t even get me started on the upside down outfit pictures.

Who or what inspires your posts? Recently my food posts are inspired by 3 things:  1.) Some amazing Instagram accounts  2.) Menus of restaurants I admire  3.) Primal hunger and immediate resources

My style posts are largely inspired by Tumblr accounts. Having stylish friends also helps because that means I gotta keep my game up.

Three words to describe Boston? On a Best in America scale: Schools, Hospitals, Seafood

What’s your favorite season in Boston? SUMMER. “But what about Fal –” SUMMER.

What’s your favorite food? I’m guessing this question is relative to my favorite food to eat in which case I have a weakness for Octopus. If Octopus is on the menu, I will always order it; as an appetizer of course. Duck Breast is also up there. So is Seaweed Salad. Hell, I don’t [f******] know! You can’t ask me a question like this!

What’s the best advice you’ve ever received? “Expect the worst, hope for the best and accept whatever comes in between.” I always have this in the back of my head, and I am never unprepared as a result of it.

What’s a place you wish to visit? I’ve been doing a pretty good job working my way across continents. But I haven’t hit up Asia yet, and I’d like to check out Thailand so I could eat some spicy, largely healthy and sometimes strange food. Then work it all off by sleeping on the beaches in Phuket. I love weird food and Thailand has some weird [s***].

How do you decompress? Depends on the day. I keep a strict schedule during the workweek, so I don’t have much free time which means my only chance to decompress is often when I’m preparing a blog post. Normally with Family Guy on in the background. On weekends, I’m already decompressed; just by the fact that it’s the weekend.

Who/what inspires your style? So it’s pretty easy to figure out that I’m a Minimalist. That said, I’m inspired by items that make a statement because I’m able to stand out without ‘fuss’.

Dana Interview

How would you describe your style, then versus now? When I started my blog, you’ll notice my style was super boring. Like ‘[b****], Bye’- boring! And I am NOT suggesting that you go digging in my archives. Leave it alone. Just take my word. Between then and now, I’ve gotten much more comfortable in ‘not giving a flying [f***]’. So even when I’m not trying – I’m aware I stand out.

Vintage or New? New [s***].

What is your dream job? Direction of Innovation- Surgical Robots

What’s your favorite quote?People always talking about you changed, and I tell them I didn’t work this hard to stay the same.” – Jay Z

Would you rather cook or have someone cook for you? This answer should be obvious. (-: I love the process of creating something from scratch, especially if I’m uncertain of what I’m doing. Because that alone means I’m getting ready to learn something new, and my DNA cells are designed constant knowledge.

**Stay connected with Dana on Instagram: @justbstill

Dana, I’d like to thank you for taking time out of your schedule to do this interview. You’re truly a gifted individual that has much more to share…in the blogging world and beyond. Love ya!

Xx,

Abrielle No Rule Just Style.jpg

15 thoughts on “CATCHING UP WITH DANA @ I’ve Got Cake

  1. Thank you so much! This feature made my day in more than one way. I really am just so lucky to have met you babylove. You really know how to make a gal feel good. 🙂

    • @Dana,
      My dear, you are more than welcome! It was an honor doing this interview with you. So glad I was able to make you smile…as you do for me and countless others. Love ya! xx

  2. You´ve got my favourite kind of Dana here! I love your style of interviewing!!! This is wonderful, I look forward to reading more interviews 🙂

Comments are closed.