BLOG SESSION: Grammar 101

Blog Session Grammar 101Tyke Photography

Before I get into this blog session, I will say that we are all human. There have been and will be moments when typos appear in a post (I’m guilty as sin). But we should make an effort to write “flawlessly”. Having said that, let’s get right to it!

Out of Order: Instead of reading your content from beginning to end, try reading your post starting with the last sentence first. Some of you may be scratching your heads, but I found this technique useful. Often, I read ahead of myself because I already know what was written. Reading the post out of order forces me to focus on the sentence, word for word. So instead of reading the beginning of a paragraph first, read the last sentence first, and then work your way back.

Say it Louder: Reading out loud forces you to pronounce every word, as opposed to reading in silence. Reading aloud can also increase your chances to find typos and misplaced punctuations. So don’t be shy! Read out LOUD!

Double Take : Having someone else read your content is ideal for most people. But for those unable to find someone else to proofread, read the article again (out loud) later in the day or the following day. Reading with a fresh pair of eyes can be just as effective as having someone else read your article. So step away from the computer/writing pad, clear your mind, and then come back.

Grammarly: This software corrects spelling and grammatical errors to help writers develop their skills. Grammarly also prevents you from copying someone else’s ideas. So even if you’re fluent in your language, it’s not a bad idea to take suggestions from a writing enhancement tool. But keep in mind, you’re not writing an APA style paper. So be creative, but make sure your content makes sense to readers.

I hope everyone enjoys the rest of their week! Thanks for taking time out of your day. Until next post!

XOXO,

Abrielle No Rule Just Style.jpg

20 thoughts on “BLOG SESSION: Grammar 101

  1. Fantastic tips! We are all guilty of allowing typos to slip through but your technique of reading the post backwards is brilliant! I will absolutely be using that! I try to go back and read old posts with fresh eyes too — I find that helps me fix awkward sentence structures and poor grammar (though no doubt my posts are still littered with problems!).

    Sed Bona

    • @Ashley,
      Thank you! Glad you found the tips useful! That’s a great idea (old posts)! Every now and then I’ll look through old posts to see if anything needs to be updated or corrected.

    • @Lena,
      Thank you so much love! I’m glad you enjoyed the post. I just found out about Grammarly last year. I love it! Hope you find it useful! 🙂 Happy Valentine’s Day to you as well. ❤

  2. Thank you for this! I just made a Grammarly account – I’ve heard so many great things about it.

Comments are closed.