BLOG SESSION: Light & Location

Blog Session Daylight

Daylight: Daylight is your best friend, but the sun can be your enemy (at times). The intensity of direct sunlight can cause the photo to be underexposed or overexposed. You can have an amazing pose, the right outfit, and great content, but when the lighting is off, you’re left with an unflattering photo. Try not to shoot at high noon on a sunny day. Later in the day (or early morning) is usually better.

If you’re unable to take photos later in the day, try to find a shaded area (not too dark) to minimize the amount of direct sunlight. Yes, artificial lighting can be very useful, but it doesn’t compare to natural light. Listening to the weather forecast ahead of time can also help plan your day accordingly.

Outdoor Location: Location is everything! I know that sounds like a cliché, but the background of a photo can be just as eye-catching as the outfit. If the background is the same color as your ensemble, you may want to find another location. A place with a different background color can make your outfit stand out.

Blog Session TrespassingNo Trespassing: Keep in mind that some locations may have photography laws or guidelines. Even if a “no trespassing” sign is not visible, it’s a good idea to contact the owner of the land or building (if applicable).  Some public places may have restrictions, so be sure you’re not in violation before going out on location. Pick a place a few days before the shoot to avoid any obstacles that can delay your creative process. Being prepared can save time, especially if you’ve hired a photographer.

Have a fabulous day everyone! Thank you for reading this post, and I’ll see you next time!

XOXO,

Abrielle No Rule Just Style.jpg

16 thoughts on “BLOG SESSION: Light & Location

    • @Styliminal,
      Thank you so much! I’m glad the post was useful. I like the layout of your blog. Your introductory was very honest and inviting. Based on your Instagram pictures and comments that have been made, I think your posts are going to be amazing. I’m looking forward to future posts. Welcome to the world of blogging! BTW, Congratulations (academic achievement) and I wish you well on your future endeavors! XOXO

      • Thank you so so much- I’m so happy that you like it, and that my words were engaging! I’m so excited to start blogging as I enter this new and unknown phase of my life- I can’t wait to see what is has in store for me! Love, Adela xx

  1. Great tips! I love taking pictures of my blogger friends in hidden places in the city, and I never really thought to see if there was a no trespassing sign! :O

    • @Amy,
      Thank you! I just bought another pair of pink pumps (loganberry-like). Can you say addicted? LOL. Yes! The sun is great, but if you’re not familiar with lighting, taking pictures can be so challenging.

Comments are closed.