BLOG SESSION: Pose For The Camera

Blog Session 1 Legs

Tyke Photography

When I first started this platform, I had no idea what that entailed. I knew I needed an outlet, but didn’t have a clear vision. Although I’m not new to the world of blogging, I am a rookie when it comes to style blogs. My first outfit post was okay, but I clearly had a lot to learn. Since it is my second year experimenting with my blog, I wanted to share a few things I’ve learned. If you just started a style blog, you may find the tips below helpful.

You’ve Got Legs, Use Them!: This tip is for those who are leg-conscious and have slender ankles, such as myself.  For leg shots, do a quick leg workout to emphasize your calves. Want to elongate your legs? Photograph shots with you walking or standing with one foot in front of the other.

Blog Session 1 Feet 2Happy Feet: If you’re wearing pumps/sandals that will have your veins exposed, try to relax your feet before taking the photograph. Putting your legs up in the air will allow the blood to flow in the other direction, making the veins less visible. If this is too much of a hassle, try photographing your shoes from a different angle:  1) a wide shot (front) or 2) low camera angle (back). In the wide shot, the front of the shoe is visible, but the focus is also on the background and your entire body.

When taking a picture at a lower angle (back of the shoe), more of the focus will be on the shoe and less on your feet. Try to keep the focus on the shoe; remove distracting elements in the photo by blurring out the background.

Blog Session 1 HandHand in Hand: If you’re very conscious about your hands, find a way to shift the focus off of your hands. For close up shots of your hands, try holding an item of clothing (ex: coat) or a handbag. If you want your hands near your face, place your hand to the far side of the frame, so your hand isn’t so dominate. Readers can see your hand, but you’re also exposing your jawline.  During the colder seasons, wear gloves, particularly leather gloves. Your hands may be hidden, but gloves are a wardrobe essential that can add detail to any outfit.

I hope everyone has a great week and thank you for stopping by NRJS.  As always, see you next post!

XOXO,

Abrielle No Rule Just Style.jpg

18 thoughts on “BLOG SESSION: Pose For The Camera

  1. I absolutely love this! I just started my first blog and these are wonderful tips. Thank you.

Comments are closed.